Experienced defense on your side
Prevent unnecessary consequences
Get expert legal advice today
Protect your reputation
More about our excellent services
Colorado Springs, CO
(Justice For All)
"There is one way in this country in which all men are created equal -- there is one human institution that makes a pauper the equal of a Rockefeller, the stupid man the equal of an Einstein, and the ignorant man the equal of any college president. That institution, gentlemen, is a court." - Atticus Finch, To Kill A Mockingbird
If you exchange harsh words with an ex-spouse, get involved in a bar fight or end up in any kind of tussle you may end up facing harassment or assault charges. Unfortunately, there are serious consequences to these charges. If you have been charged with assault in Colorado, contact me immediately. As a defense attorney, I am responsible for defending you against any criminal charges as well as raising affirmative defenses like self-defense or defense- of-others.
Contact us today for your
FREE initial consultation!
You want and need me
on your side!
If you are charged with assault, it will either be a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the extent of physical harm, and factors such as the use of a deadly weapon. In Colorado, you may be charged with simple assault, first, second and third degree assault. It is important for you to understand exactly what the charges against you are, so you and I can determine the best course of legal action.
Third Degree Assault: In Colorado, this is a class 1 misdemeanor with a possible penalty of a two-year jail sentence. If your assault was associated with domestic violence, mandatory domestic violence classes will be ordered during any period of probation. Many minor fights with an intmate can result in a simple third degree assault carrying much more severe consequences as a Domestic Violence offense.
Second Degree Assault: In Colorado, you may be charged with Second Degree Assault if you caused bodily injury intentionally with or without the use of a deadly weapon. If you knowingly drug someone without his or her consent you are also subject to being charged with second-degree assault. If you are convicted of second-degree assault in the state of Colorado, you may receive a mandatory 5-year minimum prison sentence under some circumstances.
First Degree Assault: If you cause serious bodily injury to another person or disfigure or disable another person you can be charged with first-degree assault. In the state of Colorado, if it is determined that your assault was a "crime of violence" you may be sentenced to a mandatory minimum of 10 years in prison.
As a highly qualified Colorado Springs Criminal Defense Attorney I will be responsible for investigating your case to help you avoid prison or jail time for assault. Police officers often miss critical evidence that may prove a self-defense motive and may clear you. In this situation, we will work together to determining the most viable defense to use in your case. We may need to establish that there was self-defense, provocation, or heat of passion. We will work together to have the best defense for you.
Sarah Christensen - 719-634-7770