Drunk Driving Charges | Attorney | Colorado Springs, CO

Experienced defense on your side

Prevent unnecessary consequences

Get expert legal advice today

Protect your reputation

More about our excellent services

719-634-7770

Sarah Christensen Attorney At Law, P.C. - Attorney Colorado Springs

Colorado Springs, CO

"Justitia Omnibus"

(Justice For All)

"There is one way in this country in which all men are created equal -- there is one human institution that makes a pauper the equal of a Rockefeller, the stupid man the equal of an Einstein, and the ignorant man the equal of any college president. That institution, gentlemen, is a court." - Atticus Finch, To Kill A Mockingbird

DUI Breath test Druck driving

If you have been arrested for Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol (DUI), you may suddenly find yourself in unfamiliar waters. Colorado has some of the strictest drunk driving laws in the country and first time offenders can easily find themselves paying hefty fines and being without a license. If you have been charged with a DUI, it is important to contact The Law Office of Sarah Christensen immediately to ensure that your rights are protected.

You want and need me on your side in court!

If you have been charged with drunk driving in El Paso County, you should contact a experienced Colorado Springs DUI Defense Lawyer immediately to ensure that your rights are protected. Colorado not only has strict DUI laws, we also have a Driving while Ability Impaired (DWAI) law which makes it illegal to operate a vehicle with a much lower alcohol concentration. If you are charged with either a DUI or a DWAI, you may lose your license as well as pay fines and face possible jail time. Lately we have been seeing more aggressive prosecution of driving under the influence of drugs-DUID. These cases can be complicated and drug impairment can be hard to measure. Colorado has also recently passed a Felony DUI law for certain repeat offenders.

 

In Colorado, anyone operating a vehicle on state roads automatically gives their consent to blood, breath or urine testing. If you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be revoked for one year.  Under Colorado law, the DWAI law starts at 0.05% Blood Alcohol Level (BAC) and the DUI law starts at a concentration of 0.08% or greater. Choosing to drink and drive can have dire consequences in the state of Colorado and losing your license is just the beginning.

 

If you seriously injure or kill another person while driving under the influence of alcohol, you may be facing more serious consequences including years in prison and a conviction of vehicular manslaughter. An expert defense attorney, I will investigate your case and raise all valid defenses to the charges.

 

In the state of Colorado, you may be eligible for a reduction in your sentence if you attend an alcohol treatment program.

 

If you are charged with drunk driving, don't let the system destroy your life. DUI charges can affect job status, insurance payments and the ability to find work in the future. Luckily, someone is in your corner. I am an experienced Colorado Springs DUI Defense Attorney. Put me on your side to challenge the charges,  scrutinize the results of any chemical testing and represent you at Dept. of Revenue hearings so you can breathe a little easier. Call (719) 247-1288 today.

Colorado Springs DUI Defense Attorney Sarah Christensen

Offense

Sentence

First offense - DUI/DUI per se/Habitual user

5 days - 1 year county jail; 48 - 96 hours of community service

$600 - $1,000

First offense-Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI)

2 - 180 days county jail; 24 - 48 hours of community service

$200 - $500

First offense - DUI/DUI per se - BAC of 0.20 or more

$600 - $1,000

First Offense - DWAI - BAC of 0.20 or more

10 days - 1 year county jail; 48 - 96 hours of community service

10 days - 1 year county  jail; 24 - 48 hours of community service

Fine

$200 - $500

Second offense

10 consecutive days - 1 year county jail; 48 - 120 hours of community service

$600 - $1,500

Third or subsequent offense

60 consecutive days - 1 year county jail; 48 - 120 hours of community service

$600 - $1,500

Suspension

9 months

9 months

1 year

2 years

DUI Penalties

[42-2-126,42-4-1307]

Our mission is to work closely with you to develop the best legal strategies to fight the charges against you; to enter plea negations if you wish to; and to always strive for the best outcome for you, keeping in mind the effects on the people you care most.